Category: Gods (Page 2 of 2)


Zeus is a figure from Greek mythology, recognized as the king of the gods and the god of the sky, weather, thunder, lightning, law, order, and fate. His Roman equivalent is Jupiter.

Zeus is the child of the Titan Cronus and Titaness Rhea. Cronus, having overthrown his father Uranus, was told that one of his children would overthrow him in turn. To prevent this, he swallowed each of his children as they were born, but Rhea managed to hide Zeus and gave Cronus a stone wrapped in swaddling clothes to swallow instead.

Zeus was raised in secret, and when he was grown, he returned to confront Cronus, making him regurgitate his swallowed siblings. With his brothers and sisters—Hestia, Demeter, Hera, Hades, and Poseidon—Zeus led a rebellion against the Titans, banishing them to the depths of Tartarus.

After the Titans were overthrown, Zeus, Hades, and Poseidon cast lots to divide the world amongst themselves. Zeus won the sky, Poseidon won the sea, and Hades received the Underworld. Zeus often used his powers of shape-shifting and illusion to interfere in the affairs of mortals, and he had many romantic liaisons resulting in a plethora of godly and heroic offspring.

Zeus’s symbol is the thunderbolt, but he is also associated with the eagle, the bull, and the royal scepter. He was widely worshipped in ancient Greece, and his cult influenced many aspects of Greek culture.

Olympian Gods

The Olympian Gods, also known as the Twelve Olympians, are a significant group in Greek mythology. These deities resided atop Mount Olympus and were considered to be the main gods and goddesses of the Greek pantheon. They got their name from their dwelling place, Mount Olympus.

The exact composition of the Twelve Olympians can vary slightly, but it generally includes the following deities:

  1. Zeus: The king of the gods, god of the sky, thunder, and justice.
  2. Hera: The queen of the gods, goddess of marriage, women, childbirth, and family.
  3. Poseidon: God of the sea, earthquakes, and horses.
  4. Demeter: Goddess of agriculture, fertility, sacred law, and the harvest.
  5. Athena: Goddess of wisdom, courage, and strategic warfare.
  6. Apollo: God of music, truth and prophecy, healing, the sun and light, poetry, and more.
  7. Artemis: Goddess of the hunt, wild animals, wilderness, childbirth, and the moon.
  8. Ares: God of war.
  9. Aphrodite: Goddess of love, beauty, and sexuality.
  10. Hephaestus: God of fire, metalworking, and crafts.
  11. Hermes: Messenger of the gods; god of trade, thieves, and travel.
  12. Dionysus: God of wine, pleasure, festivity, madness, and wild frenzy.

It’s worth noting that Hades, the god of the underworld, is often excluded from this list despite being a brother of Zeus and Poseidon. This is likely due to his association with the underworld and death, which set him apart from the other more ‘celestial’ Olympians. However, in some lists, he is included and Dionysus is excluded.

Each Olympian had a unique set of symbols and a special area of governance. They were worshipped extensively throughout Ancient Greece and many stories, myths, and legends are associated with them.

Newer posts »
Translate »